A history of the Portes du Soleil – Celebrating 50 years
1956 – The first cross-border link was built by Pierre Béteille. It linked the Super Chatel with Morgins. It meant skiers could get from one country to another without having to remove their skis.
1965 – A project unveiled in Lausanne in 1964 initially named the area ‘Haute Route des Familles’. The name was later changed to ‘Les Portes du Soleil’ after the col at Les Crosets.
1969 – The first cross-border ski pass was sold with the opening of the Avoriaz-Champéry link.
1976 – The first Portes du Soleil ski pass. Publicity described the area as an uncomplicated ski area with a choice of resorts to suit everyone.
1991 – The Portes du Soleil opens for summer, bringing a wave of activities including mountain biking and via feratta.
2009 – The summer ‘Multi Pass Activity Card’ is launched enabling visitors to experience 50+ activities for 1€ a day! (Now 2€)